If you are would like to get your GED diploma without stress we have very helpful GED Prep tools for you:

347 Online GED Prep Classes

Now you can easily get ready for your GED® test, HiSET, or TASC exam by using these free, proven online classes on the four testing subject areas of the high school equivalency exam. All lessons have video and text. The GED exam consists of four tests on these subject areas: Literacy (Reasoning through Language Arts – reading and writing combined), Science, Math (Mathematical Reasoning), and Social Studies. We have video lessons and mini tests for each part of the GED test. You don’t need to register to start learning. Click here to start.

236 GED Practice Tests

ged-practiceFree practice tests to get prepared for the  GED® Test. No login or registration is required. Practice tests for all GED subjects include: Math, RLA (English Language) Science and Social Studies Practice Tests. You can choose to practice for the GED tests with timed tests or without, or choose practice tests that are focused on specific topics such as Math Fractions. We have practice tests with 10, 15, 25 and 50 questions. Our practice tests with a timer will build your confidence and your time management skills.  Learn the 3 Secret Keys to GED Success. Click here to continue. 

What is in the TASC-GED-HiSET Test?

The GED test, TASC, and HiSET tests examine basic knowledge at a level that students must command upon graduation. The GED includes four tests on these subject areas: Language Arts (Writing and Reading), Mathematics, Science and Social Studies. TASC and HiSET come with separate reading and writing subtests and so have five testing areas.

Some test takers are able to pass the 7 1/2 hour series of four tests without any special special preparation, but most applicants will need to follow preparation classes to become ready to take the GED test, HiST, or TADC exam successfully. All over the country you can find numerous locations where proper preparation is offered.  The new GED test allows you to take one of the four sub-tests every time you feel properly prepared, and you only need to pay for what you take!  You have two years to complete all four tests. This does not apply to HiSET and TASC.

The GED exam

The following are the subject fields of which your knowledge is assessed on the 2014 edition of the GED test:

Math (Mathematical Reasoning): Students now need to solve real-world issues that involve inequalities, they must demonstrate their ability to factor polynomials, deal with linear inequalities in one variable, and graph these linear inequalities.

Literacy (Reasoning through Language Arts): Applicants must show they command reading at a higher level.  They now need to be able to evaluate arguments and certain claims in several or one text(s), such as the validity of the arguments used.  They now are required to read two opposing passages, and evaluate the perspectives and determine which of the positions is best supported.  This must be done in an essay.

Social Studies: This test includes new questions that assess the ability of test-takers to analyze the relations between more texts, and they also must interpret charts,  graphs, and more data.

Science: This deals with more or less the same material as in the 2002 GED Series, but the questions are more detailed and go deeper into issues.

Below Passing Score: 100 – 144
Passing Score (High School Equivalency): 145 – 164
College Ready Score: 165 – 174
College Ready Score + Credit: 175 – 200

TASC and HiSET tests contain separate writing and reading tests (so five in total) and are available both on paper and computer-based (except in New Jersey where all tests are only available on a computer).

What is HSE

The HSE stands for High School Equivalency, and the best known test is the GED (General Education Development) test, but since 2014 two other HSE options were introduced, the HiSET and TASC tests.  Adults who never finished high school have another chance to obtain a certificate or diploma that is nationwide recognized and accepted as the equivalency to a regular high school diploma. Practically all American governmental organizations, employers, and institutions of higher education recognize and accept the GED test, HiSET and TASC credential just like a regular high school diploma.

GED test vs TASC and HiSET

So the GED examination is no longer the sole option available for earning the HSE (high school equivalency) credential.  Some states now offer the TASC by CTB/McGraw Hill, or the HiSET by ETS (Educational Testing Services).  The TASC (Test Assessing Secondary Completion) and the High School Equivalency Test (HiSET) are cheaper than the new GED exam, and provide the exam in both paper and pencil, and computer-based formats, whereas the latest edition of the GED exam is only available fully computer-based.  A HSE certificate (GED-HiSET-TASC) is your ticket to a college education and will definitively improve your employment options.  If you want to qualify for credit classes and be able to receive financial aid at institutions of higher education, you need to have a high school or HSE diploma.

The GED test comes with four separate tests (modules) that can be taken independently in a two-year time frame, but the HiSET and TASC are not “modular” and must be taken as a “block”, usually spread out over a few days. TASC and HiSET contain five tests as the Literacy portion includes separate writing and reading tests. HSE/GED classes are developed to train individuals to become properly prepared so they can complete the GED (General Education Development) test or the TASC or HiSET, successfully.  These prep classes can be obtained online for a small fee or sometimes at no charge at all, but all across America GED preparation classes are offered at community schools, public libraries and community centers mostly for free.  These classes will help you pass GED tests by providing study courses and proper guidance.  Students who prepare for the exam can take  practice tests online or from test booklets that can be found at most locations where preparation programs are offered.  Pre-testing is useful as it will indicate the subject areas that need extra attention.

Language options

The examination is offered in English and Spanish with special formats available for the visually handicapped, and at some testing sites in French as well.  Special arrangements for learning or physically disabled applicants are possible, please contact the Chief Examiner for arrangements and official approval.  Obtaining a HSE diploma has many benefits, and successful completion of the program and passing the exam gives adults better employment options and the opportunity to continue their education.  More than 95 percent of all institutions of higher education recognize and accept the HSE certificate as being comparable to a common high school diploma.

HSE diploma and jobs

This GED-TASC-HiSET diploma demonstrates that you have the same understanding and knowledge as high school students upon graduation. Virtually all employers, state and federal government agencies and recruiters accept the HSE diploma as being equal to a traditional high school diploma.  In January 2014, the new version of the test has replaced the 2002 format, and the new GED test can only be taken on a computer.  Most preparation classes have modified their instruction in accordance with the new test, to make you feel more comfortable to take the tests on a computer.  The GED tests (and also the TASC or the HiSET) are not available online, you will have to show up in person at an official state testing site.  Of course you can take online prep classes and study at home, or you can engage in one of the many traditional preparation courses offered all around the country.  Use the search function to find prep classes near you.  Check out your city or state  get prepared for your HSE diploma!

 ged prep is important